Seven Brothers Islands, Gulf of Aden, Djibouti

The Seven Brothers Islands or Sawabi Islands are a group of small islands of Djibouti located in the Strait of Bab-el-Mandab between the Red Sea to the Indian Ocean. The underwater bottom are famous but not dived, and scuba diving is far from achieving the industrial development observed in Egypt. The dive sites are located on the Big Island (Khadda Dabala), East Island, South Island, Tolka, Boeing and Round Island. The seventh island is represented by a peninsula, Ras Siyan, whose relief is detached from the Djibouti coast.

Fishermen and discrete Yemeni traders who live in smaller trades using these arid and volcanic islands as a stage in their passage through the Strait of Bab-el-Mandeb, which lasts about 40 minutes to their feluccas powerful engine. The Strait of Bab-el-Mandeb literally "Gate of Wailing, 29 km wide and 130 m deep, is a turbulent area. System against the current two layers predominates: the surface water rushes into the Red Sea, while below water with high rate of salt drains. The underwater fauna is represented by coral reefs, a variety of nudibranches, fish typically found in the Red Sea and Indian Ocean, a few gray reef sharks, sharks and sleeping white tip sharks.

Click on a thumbnail to enlarge the image.


  1. Comments (0)

  2. Add yours

Comments (0)

Rated 0 out of 5 based on 0 voters
There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest.
Rate this post:
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location
Sign Up for the Free Newsletter

I would like to receive emails about how to create interesting and different nature photographs.

This information is confidential and will never be released.