Wildlife of Galapagos archipelago, Ecuador, Pacific ocean

The Galapagos Islands, also known as Archipelago of Colón, is an archipelago of Ecuador located in the eastern Pacific Ocean, 965 km off the coast of South America at the latitude of the equator. Composed of forty islands of volcanic origin, it forms a province of Ecuador since 1832 with Puerto Baquerizo Moreno for capital and largest city. He welcomed the Galapagos National Park and Galapagos Marine Reserve which is a World Heritage Site by Unesco. The interior of the islands is by its volcanic formation, fairly mountainous, the rest are craters that represent the highlights of the islands, up to 1707 m (Wolf Volcano on Isabela Island). The banks are not necessarily ironed easy access, among rocks and mangroves.

Click on a thumbnail to enlarge the image.

Cookies settings


Functional Cookies

This site uses cookies to ensure its proper functioning and cannot be disabled from our systems. We do not use them for advertising purposes. If these cookies are blocked, some parts of the site will not work.

Measure of audience

This site uses cookies for measurement and audience analysis, such as Google Analytics and Google Ads, to evaluate and improve our website.

Interactive Content

This site uses third-party components, such as ReCAPTCHA, Google Maps, MailChimp or Calameo, which may place cookies on your machine. If you decide to block a component, the content will not show up

    Social Networks / Videos

    Plug-ins of social networks and videos, which exploit cookies, are present on this web site. They improve the user-friendliness and the promotion of the site thanks to various social interactions.

    Other cookies

    This Joomla CMS uses a number of cookies to manage, for example, user sessions.