Wildlife of Galapagos Archipelago, Ecuador, Pacific Ocean

The Galapagos Islands, also known as Archipelago of Colón, is an archipelago of Ecuador located in the eastern Pacific Ocean, 965 km off the coast of South America at the latitude of the equator. Composed of forty islands of volcanic origin, it forms a province of Ecuador since 1832 with Puerto Baquerizo Moreno for capital and largest city. He welcomed the Galapagos National Park and Galapagos Marine Reserve which is a World Heritage Site by Unesco. The interior of the islands is by its volcanic formation, fairly mountainous, the rest are craters that represent the highlights of the islands, up to 1707 m (Wolf Volcano on Isabela Island). The banks are not necessarily ironed easy access, among rocks and mangroves.

Click on a thumbnail to enlarge it.

I Want to Help You to Create Interesting Photos