Seven Brothers Islands, Gulf of Aden, Djibouti

The Seven Brothers Islands or Sawabi Islands are a group of small islands of Djibouti located in the Strait of Bab-el-Mandab between the Red Sea to the Indian Ocean. The underwater bottom are famous but not dived, and scuba diving is far from achieving the industrial development observed in Egypt. The dive sites are located on the Big Island (Khadda Dabala), East Island, South Island, Tolka, Boeing and Round Island. The seventh island is represented by a peninsula, Ras Siyan, whose relief is detached from the Djibouti coast.

Fishermen and discrete Yemeni traders who live in smaller trades using these arid and volcanic islands as a stage in their passage through the Strait of Bab-el-Mandeb, which lasts about 40 minutes to their feluccas powerful engine. The Strait of Bab-el-Mandeb literally "Gate of Wailing, 29 km wide and 130 m deep, is a turbulent area. System against the current two layers predominates: the surface water rushes into the Red Sea, while below water with high rate of salt drains. The underwater fauna is represented by coral reefs, a variety of nudibranches, fish typically found in the Red Sea and Indian Ocean, a few gray reef sharks, sharks and sleeping white tip sharks.

Click on a thumbnail to enlarge the image.

This page has been read 5211 times

If this page interested you, would you give it a note? (5 stars is the best one)?
(14 votes)

Article published on Sunday, July 21, 2013 . Written by
  1. Comments (0)

  2. Add yours
There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest.
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location

Cookies settings


Functional Cookies

This site uses cookies to ensure its proper functioning and cannot be disabled from our systems. We do not use them for advertising purposes. If these cookies are blocked, some parts of the site will not work.

Measure of audience

This site uses cookies for measurement and audience analysis, such as Google Analytics and Google Ads, to evaluate and improve our website.

Interactive Content

This site uses third-party components, such as ReCAPTCHA, Google Maps, MailChimp or Calameo, which may place cookies on your machine. If you decide to block a component, the content will not show up

    Social Networks / Videos

    Plug-ins of social networks and videos, which exploit cookies, are present on this web site. They improve the user-friendliness and the promotion of the site thanks to various social interactions.

    Other cookies

    This Joomla CMS uses a number of cookies to manage, for example, user sessions.